Preach With Wisdom

HOW MANY times have you worried about saying the right thing, at the right time, in hopes of giving a powerful witness?

Ephesians 6:19 says, “Pray that I will be given the message to speak and that I may fearlessly explain the mystery about the good news.”

Those serving in First Nations ministry need constant prayer for wisdom and courage in sharing the message of Christ’s salvation.

TODAY, I INVITE YOU to pray with me that our Native people and those serving in Native Ministry will be filled with bravery and insight.

In Philippians Chapter 1, Paul says, “Now most of the Lord’s followers have become brave and are fearlessly telling the message.” (vs14) … “I will keep on being glad, because I know that your prayers and the help that comes from the Spirit of Christ Jesus will keep me safe.” (v18b -19)

Ask our Creator to give our First Nations people and those serving in Native Ministry courage and insight to share the Gospel.

LISTEN ON YOUTUBE
Preach with Wisdom

MORE ABOUT: Preach with Wisdom

I like to study with 5 translations. As you go through these studies, I encourage you to do the same. “The Scriptures” is a translation that includes the original Hebrew names and has the books in chronological order. The Contemporary English Version (CEV) is a translation that is written for ‘oral tradition’ peoples and it flows well while reading it aloud. The Amplified version is one where meanings of words and phrases are ‘amplified’ for better understanding. The King James Version (KJV) is the translation that works well with Strong’s Concordance. The Complete Jewish Bible (CJB) is a great companion version that I find gives great insight.

Ephesians 6:17-20“Take also the helmet of deliverance, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of Elohim, praying at all times, with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, watching in all perseverance and supplication for all the set-apart ones; also for me, that a word might be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to be bold in making known the secret of the Good News, for which I am an envoy in chains, that in it I might speak boldly, as I should speak.” (The Scriptures)

Ephesians 6:17-20“Let God’s saving power be like a helmet, and for a sword use God’s message that comes from the Spirit. Never stop praying, especially for others. Always pray by the power of the Spirit. Stay alert and keep praying for God’s people. Pray that I will be given the message to speak and that I may fearlessly explain the mystery about the good news. I was sent to do this work, and that’s the reason I am in jail. So pray that I will be brave and will speak as I should.” (CEV)

Ephesians 6:17-20“And take the helmet of salvation and the sword that the Spirit wields, which is the Word of God. Pray at all times (on every occasion, in every season) in the Spirit, with all [manner of] prayer and entreaty. To that end keep alert and watch with strong purpose and perseverance, interceding in behalf of all the saints (God’s consecrated people). And [pray] also for me, that [freedom of] utterance may be given me, that I may open my mouth to proclaim boldly the mystery of the good news (the Gospel). For which I am an ambassador in a coupling chain [in prison, Pray] that I may declare it boldly and courageously, as I ought to do.” (Amplified)

Ephesians 6:17-20“And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints; And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.” (KJV)

Ephesians 6:17-20“And take the helmet of deliverance;[a] along with the sword given by the Spirit, that is, the Word of God; as you pray at all times, with all kinds of prayers and requests, in the Spirit, vigilantly and persistently, for all God’s people. And pray for me, too, that whenever I open my mouth, the words will be given to me to be bold in making known the secret of the Good News, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may speak boldly, the way I should.” (CJB)

Philippians 1:14-20“and most of the brothers, trusting in the Master because of my chains, are much more bold to fearlessly speak the word. Some indeed proclaim Messiah even from envy and strife, but some also out of pleasure — the former announce Messiah from selfish ambition, not sincerely, thinking to add distress to my chains, but the latter out of love, knowing that I am appointed for the defence of the Good News. What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretence or in truth, Messiah is announced. And in this I rejoice, in fact, I shall rejoice. For I know that this shall turn out for my deliverance through your prayer and the supply of the Spirit of Yeshua Messiah, according to my intense longing and anticipation that I shall not be ashamed at all, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Messiah shall be made great in my body, whether by life or by death.” (The Scriptures)

Philippians 1:14-20“Now most of the Lord’s followers have become brave and are fearlessly telling the message. Some are preaching about Christ because they are jealous and envious of us. Others are preaching because they want to help. They love Christ and know that I am here to defend the good news about him. But the ones who are jealous of us are not sincere. They just want to cause trouble for me while I am in jail. But that doesn’t matter. All that matters is that people are telling about Christ, whether they are sincere or not. That is what makes me glad. I will keep on being glad, because I know that your prayers and the help that comes from the Spirit of Christ Jesus will keep me safe. I honestly expect and hope that I will never do anything to be ashamed of. Whether I live or die, I always want to be as brave as I am now and bring honor to Christ.” (CEV)

Philippians 1:14-20“And [also] most of the brethren have derived fresh confidence in the Lord because of my chains and are much more bold to speak and publish fearlessly the Word of God [acting with more freedom and indifference to the consequences]. Some, it is true, [actually] preach Christ (the Messiah) [for no better reason than] our of envy and rivalry (party spirit), but others are doing so out of a loyal spirit and goodwill. The latter [proclaim Christ] out of love, because they recognize and know that I am [providentially] put here for the defense of the good news (the Gospel). But the former preach Christ out of a party spirit, insincerely [out of no pure motive, but thinking to annoy me], supposing they are making my bondage more bitter and my chains more galling. But what does it matter, so long as either way, whether in pretense [for personal ends] or in all honesty [for the furtherance of the Truth], Christ is being proclaimed? And in that I [now] rejoice, yes, and I shall rejoice [hereafter] also. For I am well assured and indeed know that through your prayers and a bountiful supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ (the Messiah) this will turn out for my preservation (for the spiritual health and welfare of my own soul) and avail toward the saving work of the Gospel. This is in keeping with my own eager desire and persistent expectation and hope, that I shall not disgrace myself nor be put to shame in anything; but that with the utmost freedom of speech and unfailing courage, now as always heretofore, Christ (the Messiah) will be magnified and get glory and praise in this body of mine and be boldly exalted in my person, whether through (by) life or through (by) death.” (Amplified)

Philippians 1:14-20“And many of the brethren in the Lord, waxing confident by my bonds, are much more bold to speak the word without fear. Some indeed preach Christ even of envy and strife; and some also of good will: The one preach Christ of contention, not sincerely, supposing to add affliction to my bonds: But the other of love, knowing that I am set for the defense of the gospel. What then? notwithstanding, every way, whether in pretense, or in truth, Christ is preached; and I therein do rejoice, yea, and will rejoice. For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.” (KJV)

Philippians 1:14-20“Also, my being in prison has given most of the brothers in the Lord confidence, so that they have become much more bold in speaking the word of God fearlessly. True, some are proclaiming the Messiah out of jealousy and rivalry, but others are doing it in goodwill. The latter act from love, aware that I am put where I am for defending the Good News; while the former announce the Messiah out of selfish ambition, with impure motives, supposing they can stir up trouble for me in prison. But so what? All that matters is that in every way, whether honestly or in pretense, the Messiah is being proclaimed; and in that I rejoice. Yes, and I will continue to rejoice, for I know that this will work out for my deliverance, because of your prayers and the support I get from the Spirit of Yeshua the Messiah. It all accords with my earnest expectation and hope that I will have nothing to be ashamed of; but rather, now, as always, the Messiah will be honored by my body, whether it is alive or dead.” (CJB)

AUDIO: Week 6

OFFICIAL FirstNationsMonday.Com website.

First Nations Monday
“Holding Up The People In Prayer”
Est. May 2000
Founder: Jeny Running Brook Covill

(Note: This message is number 6 in a series that begins the first Monday in January each year.)

OTHER RESOURCES

First Nations Version Project
A retelling of the Sacred Scriptures for Native Americans and all English speaking Indigenous peoples.
http://www.firstnationsversion.com/

Cherokee Bible Project – ONLINE – New Testament
https://sites.google.com/site/cherokeebibleproject/new-testament

Cherokee Bible Project – ONLINE – Old Testament
https://sites.google.com/site/cherokeebibleproject/old-testament-verses

Cherokee Bible Project Titles in Book form:
(A joint mission of the Cherokee Bible Project and Four Rivers Native American Church)
http://tuscanyglobal.com/bible/
Genesis in Cherokee
Haggai in Cherokee
Jonah in Cherokee
100 Days Of Indigenous Wisdom
Cherokee New Testament
New Cherokee Hymnal
Matthew’s Gospel in Cherokee
Mark’s Gospel in Cherokee
Luke’s Gospel in Cherokee
John’s Gospel in Cherokee
The Acts of the Apostles in Cherokee
ROMANS in Cherokee
CORINTHIANS in Cherokee
GALATIANS to COLOSSIANS in Cherokee
THESSALONIANS to HEBREWS in Cherokee
JAMES to JUDE in Cherokee
John’s Revelation in Cherokee
Pastoral Epistles in Cherokee (coming)
General Epistles in Cherokee (coming)

Leave a Reply

